life is what happens…

…when you’re making other plans.

We’ve all heard that saying, right? And to me, it always suggests a certain negativity, a certain regret. A certain sense that, at the end of our days, we will look back and say, “I always wanted to be this and go there, but instead…”

I don’t know if it is something to regret. Isn’t it wonderful, the way that life brings us so many unexpected opportunities, interests, loves?

Lately I have read a lot of articles and blogs talking about the importance of making every second count, of figuring out what your dreams are and then working tirelessly towards making them reality. And that makes me wonder if I should spend more time planning where my life will go and less time simply letting life happen to me and then I think, well, it has been quite good to me so far.

One of my closest friends has a fantastic job that has seen her travel the world and meet many interesting (and, indeed, famous) people, all because she volunteered one summer at university. Those are the kinds of stories I think I like best. 

I’m curious. How many of the best things in your life were the result of a plan, and how many were simply a twist of fate?

 

Today, instead of taking one of the paths I know, I ran in an unfamiliar direction. By the time I got home, my feet were sodden, and my hair was full of bits of twig, but I did come within a few feet of a deer and a kestrel. No plan, but an encounter with true majesty.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

